2016 Betway World Cup of Darts (PDC)

Updated: June 1, 2016

The 2016 Betway World Cup of Darts takes place on June 2-5, at the Eissporthalle in Frankfurt, Germany.  This is the sixth staging of the event, and the United States will again be represented in the 32-nation championship by Darin Young and Larry Butler.  Young is an ever-present here, while Butler has competed in the last three World Cups.

The American pairing will be looking to improve on their previous performances, although it must be said that the draw certainly hasn’t been kind to them!  In 2014, they lost to three-time victors, Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis, and last year, they suffered defeat against reigning champions, Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld!

This time, Young and Butler kick-off against the Philippines (Gilbert Ulang and Alex Tagarao).  The contest is the second of the first session tomorrow (Thursday) evening, and follows the Hungary vs Thailand opener.  The session commences at 8.00pm local time (2.00pm Eastern/1.00pm central), so the US should take to the stage around 8.30pm, or just before.  The format is a straight knockout, Best-of-Nine legs.

Should Young and Butler emerge victorious, they will then face either the Netherlands or Russia on Saturday evening.  While the Americans are 300/1 outsiders to lift the title (obviously due to the possibility of an early clash with the Dutchmen), they are odds-on favorites to beat Ulang and Tagarao.  Van Gerwen and van Barneveld are tournament favorites, priced at 13/8, ahead of Taylor and Lewis (2/1), and Scotland’s Gary Anderson and Robert Thornton (9/2).  Belgium and Wales are fourth favorites at 25/1. (Odds by Betway).

Here is the schedule of play for the first two rounds (seedings in brackets):

Thursday June 2 (8.00pm local time)
Hungary vs Thailand
USA vs Philippines
Norway vs Gibraltar
Denmark vs Sweden
Belgium (7) vs Poland
Scotland (2) vs New Zealand
Netherlands (3) vs Russia
Australia (6) vs Germany

Friday June 3 (8.00pm local time)
Czech Republic vs China
Greece vs Canada
Republic of Ireland vs Hong Kong
South Africa vs Singapore
Northern Ireland (4) vs Japan
Wales (5) vs Finland
England (1) vs Spain
Austria (8) vs Italy

Saturday June 4 – Round 2 (2.00pm local time)
Belgium/Poland vs Hungary/Thailand
Northern Ireland/Japan vs Republic of Ireland/Hong Kong
Wales/Finland vs Greece/Canada
Austria/Italy vs South Africa/Singapore

Saturday June 4 – Round 2 (8.00pm local time)
Scotland/New Zealand vs Norway/Gibraltar
Australia/Germany vs Denmark/Sweden
England/Spain vs Czech Republic/China
Netherlands/Russia vs USA/Philippines

You must be logged in to post a comment Login